50th Anniversary Celebration and Alumni Awards Reception

50th Anniversary Celebration and Alumni Awards Reception

Saturday, April 9th, 2016
Whittier Law School
Kiesel Advocacy Center (courtroom)
4:00 p.m. Welcome Reception
5:00 p.m. Awards Ceremony
6:00 p.m. Anniversary Celebration

Includes heavy hors d’oeuvres and open bar

For more information, email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or phone 714-444-4141 ext. 127

Announcing the Winners of the Alumni Awards

The Whittier Law School Alumni Association is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Alumni Awards! Please join us in congratulating these accomplished WLS alumni and the Professor of the Year at the 50th Anniversary Celebration and Alumni Awards Reception on April 9th.

Whittier Law School Alumni Lawrence D. Rohlfing
Attorney of the Year Award: Lawrence D. Rohlfing, Class of 1985
Lawrence D. Rohlfing is the owner and proprietor of the nine-attorney law firm, the Law Offices of Lawrence D. Rohlfing. Since admittance to the California State Bar, he has sought, with distinction, to champion the rights of the disabled before the Social Security Administration, the United States District Courts, the United States Courts of Appeal, and the United States Supreme Court. Lawrence has argued disability and other benefit entitlement claims in over a hundred cases before the Ninth and Eleventh Circuit Courts of Appeals. He has presented briefs in three cases to the United States Supreme Court. More

Whittier Law School Alumni Matthew D. Easton
Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Matthew D. Easton, Class of 2009
Matthew D. Easton is an experienced litigator and partner at Easton & Easton, LLP, where he works alongside his father and two brothers in representing plaintiffs in serious personal injury and wrongful death claims. Matt has litigated cases against the State of California, numerous cities, numerous school districts, and countless large corporate entities and other defendants on behalf of seriously injured parties. In recent years, he has been the primary litigator in numerous multi-million dollar cases for his firm. More

Whittier Law School Alumni Judge Karen Ackerson Gauff
Judicial Officer of the Year Award: Judge Karen Ackerson Gauff, Class of 1991
Upon becoming an attorney in 1991, Judge Gauff practiced as a criminal defense attorney and civil rights prosecutor before recruitment by the California Department of Justice (DOJ) as a Deputy Attorney General in 2000. Judge Gauff was appointed as a Judge in 2010 by former Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. She is currently assigned to the Compton Courthouse. In January 2016, Judge Gauff was selected to preside over a Community Collaborative Court for treatment to Veterans, the mentally ill, chronic homeless, and the sexually exploited. More

Whittier Law School Professor Betsy Rosenblatt
Professor of the Year Award: Betsy Rosenblatt, Associate Professor of Law; Director, Center for Intellectual Property Law
Professor Rosenblatt joined the Whittier faculty in 2009. At Whittier, she has taught courses in Patent Law, Trademark Law, Video Game Law, Advanced Patent Law, Recent Issues in Intellectual Property Law, and Civil Procedure. She is also one of the co-creators and co-professors of the school’s 1L Legal Mind course. After graduating from Harvard Law School, Professor Rosenblatt practiced intellectual property litigation at the firm of Irell & Manella in Los Angeles, where her clients involved major entertainment and high-tech companies, and she taught as an Adjunct Professor of Trademark Law at USC Gould School of Law. Following practice, she was a Fellow in Intellectual Property Law at UCLA School of Law. More